Just Ask Sooz—Kid Edition

Image

Dear Sooz:

I am a fourth Grader at Jefferson Middle school and I have a problem. I hope you can help me. I have liked this girl named Becky ever since I was in second grade.

You see her last name and mine have the same last letter. Seeing as though we are seated alphabetically in homeroom, I have come to talk with her and have come to know her very well.

I would love her to be able to come over to my house for a play date but my mother won’t allow us to be together. She says it is not right for a boy and girl of our age to be in such a loving relationship.

I believe I do have feelings for her and her for me. I just want to be around her you know? Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with us just talking and going for ice cream or seeing a movie together. What are your thoughts on this?

Luckless in Love

 

Dear Luckless:

This is a tough one ‘cause you are what 10-11? I certainly can NOT discount your feeling because both you and your lady are about to come into your hormonal years. You have what I call Puppy love. You’re not old enough to have mature feelings of love, yet you FEEL as if you do.

For now, it is best to keep your relationship as friends only. I am sorry but I have to side with your mom on this one. I think if there is a school event that is well supervised, then that would be fine.

However, depending on your and her maturity level, I believe being alone together is bad idea. Sometimes, hormone levels surge and unforeseen things happen that can mess up both of your lives.  Wait a few years; you have your whole lives ahead of you. Sorry I couldn’t have sided with you on this one.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

