Just Ask Sooz

Image

Dear Sooz:

My husband and I have a bet that I would like you to decide. First, let me tell you what we would each win if you will be the tie breaker for us. I would win my dream vacation to Italy that I’ve always wanted. My husband would get breakfast in bed on the weekends for the next year. Nice huh?

Here’s the question. Our daughter just turned 13 a couple of weeks ago and she wants the option to go on date unsupervised with a 16 year old boy. My husband says that our daughter is very mature and that everything would be fine.

I, on the other hand, am very skeptical. I know how I was at 13. My hormones were raging, I liked everything I saw in pants, and I needed to feel loved. I am just afraid that a 13 year old girl no matter how mature she is would be equipped to handle those feelings.

While I trust my daughter, I am a little worried about a 16 year old boy and what his hormones are saying. I don’t want to shelter her all her life Sooz, I just think that she is a little young for this kind of dating. What do you think? Whatever you say goes so let’s have your opinion.

Skeptical and Scared

 

Dear Skeptical and Scared:

Pack your bags and bring that suntan lotion. I totally agree with you. At 13, while your daughter seems to be mature, her hormones raging through her body are NOT. Let’s face it, a 16 year old BOY only wants one thing and it AIN’T ice cream. Now, am I saying anything would happen…NO, but, I don’t think it would be a good idea to take the risk.

I think a supervised date would be fine and I’m sure if your daughter really likes this guy she will certainly agree. I say better be safe than sorry. No need to add another life to your household at such an early age. I know how I was at that age and I totally agree with you on this one. Tell your husband for me I’m sorry but he will have to be getting up and getting his OWN breakfast. Thanks for writing.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

Leave a Reply

