A Drunkard’s Prayer

Image

Slumber approaches as I drift into a world of oblivion.

My mind once sharp and discerning,

Now is dispassionate from the sweet liquid of courage.

 

Heavy are my limbs, and flushed is my body.

My senses are laggard, and my mood is sensual.

Lust is beckoning me to renew its companionship,

Yet, the heavy wave of slumber tugs at my core.

 

My lips once wet with luscious desire,

Now fail to grasp Natures saliva.

My words once a thing of confidence and beauty, now appropriated,

For they have been transformed into meaningless syllables.

 

As has been proclaimed, the mind is strong, but the body is weak.

I pray thee; let me NOT suffer thy treacherous consequences,

Enhance my spirit to a better resolve,

And return me to my glory.

 

 

   

Leave a Reply

