Just Ask Sooz

130600-130170.jpg (212×188)

Dear Sooz:

I want to vent about my mother-in-law, she is a real pill Sooz. Let me just say that I am always nice to her; I hold no ill will towards her, and yet, she treats me like a servant girl. I even have invited her to lunch to talk about it but she speaks in three word sentences.

I have asked my husband but he says that it is just my imagination and that I shouldn’t worry about it, but I do. I’ll give you an example, at Thanksgiving, I told her that I would make the turkey and that she could bring what ever else she wanted, not bad, right?

Well, let me tell you, she showed up with an already cooked bird and all the other trimmings. She said that her son only likes it cooked a certain way and that he was used to having her cooking. I just withered away in the background as not start a fight while my husband was there.

I was pissed Sooz, and when I told my husband about it, all he said was that was just her way. I got no support at all. What, if anything, can I do to correct this situation?
Surf in a Turf Land

Dear Surf:

It appears as though mommy just doesn’t want to give up her baby boy. She still sees him as an infant, taking care of him, and doing everything for him.She is reluctant to give up her FREAKIN’ control. First, I would go to your husband and say: “Look SLICK, either YOU stand up to your mother or I will.” Tell him that you would hate to see her all burned from an “accidental” FLAME THROWER incident.

Let him know in NO uncertain terms that you are HIS wife and as such, he should support you 100%. Explain that YOU are a nice person dammit and you DESERVE to be treated accordingly. It is HIS responsibility to take the lead on this one. Follow it up and make sure that your mamma’s boy does it. If he doesn’t, there is always the FLAME THROWER idea.

Good Luck…

2 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

  1. I made it clear to my wife that when it came to something between them, I’d support her.
    Then I asked her to please not piss off my mom if she could avoid it.

    What? My mom could get scary…

    Like

Leave a Reply

