Down, But NOT Out

For those of you who may know me, you have probably realized that I have not been blogging recently. It wasn’t because I was really busy, it was because on Sunday night when I returned home from Brazil, I suffered a heart attack.

I had been feeling tired while inspecting my business in Brazil, but just thought it was from working too much. When I returned to the States, I started to feel a slight chest tightening, followed by shortness of breath. I immediately sat down in my comfortable recliner, put my feet up and just rested. Slowly, the episode passed and I just went to bed.

Monday at around 3:45 AM, I woke up feeling nauseous and again with shortness of breath and chest pains. I decided that it would be in my best interest to get to the hospital to have this checked out. I called and woke one of my friends who immediately came over and took me to the ER.

I checked in at reception, gave all my insurance info, and when they heard it was heart related, I was immediately taken to a room for blood work and the other usual standardized things like blood pressure and temperature readings.

Let me just stop here and tell you all that I am NOT a good patient. I respect what the medical community does and I am grateful, but, I am an answer woman, I need answers NOW!!! WaitingDON’T GET ME STARTED…..I consider myself a mover and a shaker and I HATE waiting. Unfortunately, I was in the Hospital and I was playing by THEIR rules. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Every 15 minutes someone would come in, take my blood pressure and temperature, and tell me the Dr. would see me shortly. Well, THEIR shortly turned out to be 2 hrs… I was FURIOUS…I could have had a HEART ATTACK just from being that angry.

FINALLY, the Dr. comes in, shakes my hand, and asks how am feeling? ” I am feeling PISSED OFF Doc, what the Hell is wrong with me?” He explained in his sweetest bedside manor, (He was CUTE!!!), that my XYZ enzymes were through the roof and that I had suffered a heart attack. WTFFFFFFFFFFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

At that point I would have been the BEST fly catcher EVER as my mouthed hit the gurney. He explained that I would have to stay and undergo some tests to see how much damage was done to my heart. Kicking and screaming I agreed but I asked how long I would be in there. He said 5-7 days depending on how I was doing. I smiled, and told him that I was a fast healer, HE smiled, and said “We’ll see.”

SoFor the next five days I was on my BEST behavior (That means NO SEX), I did what they told me and ate WONDERFUL Hospital food from the Cardiac Diet….BLAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Bottom line, after a myriad of tests and eye batting, I was FINALLY able to get sprung from my WELLNESS ClinicI will be off work for 30 days pending about a million follow up visits and blood tests. I tried to negotiate with the Dr, by saying three weeks, but, he just shook his beautiful little blond haired head and said “NOPE.”

Get thisNOW I have to go on a fat reduced Cardiac Diet wit EXTREMELY low salt. WHAT?????? Well, I guess all in all I was lucky because it didn’t do that much damage to my heart muscle. I promised the Dr. I would be a “Good Girl” and do just what he saidWe’ll SEE??????????


11 thoughts on “Down, But NOT Out

  1. Glad you’re back, Sooz! Sorry to hear about the low-salt stuff… That stinks. But at least the Doc is cute, right? Anyway, I vanished for a bit, too. But I think I’m back. Who can say?

    Like

  2. Wow ! I hope you are being a good girl Sooz and are on the mend. A cute doctor helps. Male for you, female for me as I have just been in for a few outpatient days. Keep us posted my friend. xox ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

