I Got Hooked on an Infomercial

cia-loves-u-760208

Dicer\

Tick, tick, tick, here it is 3:00 AM and I still couldn’t sleep. What do you do? I‘ll tell you what, you get up, pour some Tea, and watch Infomercials until your eyes FALL OUT!

Let me be clear about something, I am in Advertising so I know ALL the tricks of the trade, EXCEPT one. I am the EASIEST sale around. Salesmen LOVE me. I am incapable of saying no to a good close from the door to door guy.

It’s true; I am just a sucker at my OWN game. I have a Kirby, all the Fuller brushes I will EVER need, and OK, Hell, I even have a Pocket Fisherman to boot. Go figure.

So here I was with Tea in hand, sitting in front of the boob tube, when this Infomercial comes on about this product that slices, dices, chops, and even COOKS you dinner if you can find the right button.

NOW, it had my attention. I do a lot of cooking, so anything that will make MY job easier I’m in 100%. My attention is now GLUED to this 60” rectangular box with pretty colors, and the allure of Aladdin’s lamp sucking me into its web of intrigue.

I am hooked. The TV asks a question, I nod my head as if I’m in a hypnotized state of mind. Just by ordering today, you ALSO get a FREE Ginsu knife for your entire sushi making. OMG!!!!!! I just had to have this…

My hands are shaking now as I fumble into my bag and pull out that magic piece of plastic that will satisfy my hungry craving. I am possessed. I NEED this product. I can see myself using it EVERY day for quicker meals.

The deed was done. Three days later I received this magic piece of art that I could NOT live without. The problem is, I have only used it three times in two years.

Until Later…

Leave a Reply

