The Art of Eating Spaghetti

Ah, the delectable noodle, it tantalizes our tongues, and rolls around our taste buds, creating a taste deserving of the gods. All of us at one time or another has experienced this culinary masterpiece.

My question, how do you eat your spaghetti? Do you cut it first, do you wrap it around a spoon, or do you lift it high in the air and just suck each and every juicy noodle into your mouth while licking the sauce off your face?

Perhaps if you are a little one, you will go TO the spaghetti and just dig right in with a hungry mouth. They care not about the potential mess, to them; it’s just experiencing all the joys of the joyous taste.

So what IS the right way to eat spaghetti and eat a meatball? Well, after extensive research, here is what I have discovered. If you are at home, eat it ANY way you want. Cut it, spoon it, suck it, OR even go to IT if that’s what you want.

If, however, you are at a dinner party, the proper way is to just get a few strands and twirl them on your fork before extending to your mouth. Now, if the host puts out an extra spoon, THEN it is quite proper for the spoon to be used.

Oops…I have eaten MY spaghetti WRONG!!! I have cut my spaghetti in two. Hopefully, the noodle gods don’t come to me in the middle of the night and place a bug in my tummy that will cause me to run to the bathroom.

I’m sorry, oh god of Pasta, I promise, I will never do it again. I will do my penance by practicing and practicing my fork twirling technique, until I am able to get EACH forkful into my mouth. I will cut the meatball one cut at a time until it is gone.

Hopefully in this way, I shall have accomplished the correct art of eating spaghetti.

Leave a Reply

