Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

My husband and I are having an argument about our 8 year daughter. She is very hairy Sooz, she doesn’t wear skirts, shorts, or dresses because of his problem.

I have told my husband about it, but he says she is too young and that she and I are just being silly. I too had hairy legs when I was young Sooz, and I know that the embarrassment and the teasing from others can mess you up.

I swore to myself that if I ever had a daughter, I would not let this also embarrass her. I am torn because of my husband. What do you think I should do?

Barber of Seville

 

Dear Barber of Seville:

First of all…CUTE signature…LOVE it!!! More importantly however is your daughter. You’re right, teasing, especially by her peers at school could be very damaging to her self-worth.

In MY opinion, I wouldn’t hesitate at all about taking your daughter aside and teaching her the use of a good razor and hair removers. Your husband is wrong in this case since he never had to go through that humiliation.

You are that child’s mother; you KNOW what to do, so DO IT already. My guess is your husband won’t even notice the difference anyway. If he does, too bad, sometimes we girls just have to stick together. Good luck!!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

