Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I have a very good friend who is 84, her BODY is healthy but she has dementia. She is a very pleasant person, but she believes that people are out to “get her”. Sometimes, she believes that she is a secret agent and that people are coming for her.

Her Dr. says that sometimes this is “normal” for people in her condition. I keep telling her that it is just her imagination, but she doesn’t believe me. When her son comes over, when she isn’t lucid, she believes him to be her arch enemy from a made up place she calls I-4.

I love her, but I don’t know how I can help her. Any suggestions?

Lost in I-4 Land

 

Dear Lost in I-4 Land:

It’s a shame really, seeing those you love who used to be vibrant members of society, just wasting away in their own minds. The only thing I could suggest is to get her involved with brain activities when she IS lucid.

 Games like, crossword puzzles, scrabble, playing an instrument, or even sitting her down with a family album and re-living the moments in her life may help strengthen her memory.

Keep things around the house that she is familiar with where they have always been so she will recognize them. Keeping her day in some sort of a routine is also a good idea. Get up, eat, and other activities should be done around the same time each day.

My heart goes out to you darlin’, but just remember, if you DO hear unusual, strange noises, some night, DUCK, it COULD be I-4. God Bless You…

 

 

Leave a Reply

