If it Bleeds, it Leads—Sooz’s Rant

“If it Bleeds, it Leads” is a famous newspaper quote that had dominated the newspaper industry for years. In a nutshell, it means that if there is basically blood, guts, and or gore involved, then this will be the front page story.

While I agree that for YEARS, this has sold millions of papers, I really have to direct my attention INWARD to assess whether or not this is a GOOD thing.

Sure it sells papers, but in MY case, seeing those awful images, and reading the grotesque column attached, starts my day off with a less than HAPPY view concerning Humanity.

Look, everyone wants to make a buck, I GET it, but WHY do we need to be associated with that as SOON as we open the paper? How about putting these types of articles in the World section, or Local sections of the paper? Hey, the grotesque pictures and adjoining column will STILL be there, and you can STILL get all the depressing news you want JUST by visiting these sections.

Is it JUST me or does anyone else share my opinion here? I know sometimes I get a little weird about things, and I guess this is just one of those times. Here’s an Idea…How about putting HAPPY news stories on the front page, guess what, I’LL still buy it!!!

 I would like NOTHING more than to see a picture of a DOG saving a distraught individual from a fire, or how about showing a Good Samaritan helping out a homeless man? What’s WRONG with THESE kinds of stories on the front page of our major newspapers?

Whose with me on this ANYONE, looks around and doesn’t see many hands raised. Oh well, it was worth a try.

Until Later…

 

 

2 thoughts on “If it Bleeds, it Leads—Sooz’s Rant

Leave a Reply

