Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I have a problem that may also concern others in my situation. You see, my wife and I have been married for 32 years and have been happy. Here’s the problem, recently, she re-connected with an old school friend on Facebook.

Steve used to date her in high school and when college started, she just picked up, left, and started a new adventure. I am not usually a jealous person Sooz, but she is on-line with him for hours at a time some nights.

When I ask her about it, she gets annoyed and says that I am being a jealous husband. She says that nothing is going on and that I should just quit bugging her about it.

The other day, she left her chat room open and I read it. She and he plan on meeting at a motel when I’m out on business next week. I am so distraught. I love my wife Sooz, but it appears that she wants to be with her “old love” from high school. How do I react here, I am so upset.

Dazed in Dallas

 

Dear Dazed in Dallas:

Well, sir, you have to sit her down BEFORE you go on your trip and have a real heart to heart talk with her. Come clean what you did and explain that as far as YOU’RE concerned, she is the love of your life.

Discuss your marriage and IF she is having concerns, tell her that you would be willing to go to marriage counseling to try and make things better. If she really has an interest in saving your marriage, tell her to stay away from this other guy. There can be NO THREE in a marriage, and have it work out.

I hear stories like this all too much and for sure it is a cryin’ shame. I wish both of you luck and I hope all works out well for you both.

 

Leave a Reply

