Look Out…Pigs Are Flying

The term “When pigs fly” is an Adynaton. a figure of speech in the form of hyperbole, taken to such extreme lengths as to insinuate a complete impossibility:[1]

How many of you actually KNEW that??? Yeah, right, “When pigs fly!!!” I used to get this expression thrown at me ALL the time. Examples:

Me:         I’ll be home at 10 Mom

Mom:       When Pigs Fly!!!

Me:         You can buy me a drink BUT, I’m NOT putting out

My date:   When Pigs Fly out of your ASS

Me:         One day Mrs Day, (High school  guidance counselor), I’m going to own my own company.

Mrs. Day:   When the Heavens open up and pigs fly out Sooz

You get the picture, I’ve heard it a lot, but ya know what, I never let it deter me. I studied, and worked, and did whatever it took to become successful. It was nice when I finally succeeded. I looked up after I got promoted to Account Executive Manager, and I SWORE that I had seen pigs flying.

OK, I was DRUNK at the time, but STILL, it was a great feeling. From that day on, I KNEW that pigs really COULD fly.

Until Later…

 Reference: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Flying_pig

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

