Just Ask Sooz

Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I have an unusual situation I hope you can help me resolve. My girlfriend of many years has just gotten married to a millionaire. That is not the problem. You see, for as long as I have known her, she has always needed to be penny pinching in order to make ends meet.

Since she has come into money, whenever we go out to lunch or dinner, she always wants to pick up the check. I realize that to her, it is no big deal and that I probably should be grateful, it just makes me feel uneasy you know?

I have offered to pick up the check, but all I get is grief when I do. Should I just shut up and be grateful, or should I tell her how I feel?

Confused

 

Dear Confused:

I can understand this because when I first started making good money, I, too, started picking up the checks. It always gave me a good feeling just knowing that I COULD for change.

More than likely, your friend feels the same way. Here’s a thought, buy her a sentimental gift. It doesn’t have to be expensive, just a little something that will mean something to her to show that you are appreciative.

She NEEDS to feel like she is a good friend and is merely showing that to you by picking up the checks, LET her. Just enjoy your lunches/dinners, relax and have a good time. I’m sure your friend thinks nothing of it. Good luck…

 

Leave a Reply

