Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I’m a 52 year old woman who has been widowed now for almost 2 years. I have recently met a man and we’ve been dating for the last month. Yesterday, while at the movies, he looked me straight in the eye and asked me to marry him.

Sooz, I didn’t know what to say, I mean it has only been one month. I enjoy his company, and we do get along well together, I am just afraid to make any commitment until I know him better.

He is 4 years my senior and has been married twice already so I am a little leery. I do know that he is well off and would be able to amply provide for me. I am really torn here Sooz, what do you think I should do?

Torn

Dear Torn:

I seem to be missing the “L” word here. You state that you “enjoy his company” and “get along well”, but, there is just NO mention of the word love here. While you two are certainly mature adults and know your own minds, I suggest you get to know him better, and wait and see what develops first.

I mean, for all you know, he could be a serial killer, or a guy who picks his nose all day. Get to know him before you take that big leap. If he truly loves you, he will understand and go along with you.

Just don’t jump INTO something before being sure. The fact that you are writing for MY opinion tells me to take it slow, stir the pot first, THEN taste the flavor… I wish you much luck.

Leave a Reply

