Just Ask Sooz

Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I am a 17 year old boy who has no life. I realize that sounds very melodramatic, but, I live with my parents, I go to school, come home, and go to bed. Yes, I have good grades, but that in itself is not doing anything for me.

I would describe myself as OK looking, but I am very shy. I usually just stay in my room and read. I have no friends, I am desperately craving a girlfriend, but I am just too afraid to approach or make conversation with anyone.

Let’s face it, I’m a loser Sooz, and I don’t know what to do about it. Some days I feel like l am invisible, is there anything you can do to help turn my pathetic life around?

Depressed Teen

 

Dear Depressed Teen:

Believe it or not, there are many teens in the same exact boat you’re in right now. Being painfully shy isn’t a crime, but it DOES suck big-time. The question is HOW to CHANGE that?

I too was extremely shy growing up…YES, I WAS!!!!!! I learned that in order to gain fiends, both male and female, I needed to become involved with some of the events that were going on in school.

The more interests people “perceive” you have, the more popular you will become with others. I realize this is easier said than done, but, find something you can do, like sports, chess club, yearbook involvement, etc.

The more interaction you have with others, the better you will feel, and USUALLY, this leads to becoming more confident. When you feel good about YOURSELF, you exude an air that will attract you to others. This is just basic Psychology.

No more moping around now, you are a good person who has many talents… Get out there and SHOW them off. Good Luck…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

  1. Let me add that an upbeat attitude draws people to you…I think for most teenagers the high school years seem the worst time and it is sometimes. It’s a time of finding oneself and its hard with all the pressures, but remember things change as we move forward. I found when I entered college I had a whole new sense of independence and less reliance on the opinions of others, I was more self-assured. Hang in there, it’s get better, that is my message.

    Like

Leave a Reply

