Just Ask Sooz

Dear Sooz:

I am in a quandary. I have been dating a wonderful girl now for 3 years and am on the verge of asking her to marry me. The problem is, in my mind, I’m not sure if she is “the one”. Sometimes I believe I go off on tangents wondering if there really “is” the perfect girl for me. At 22 years old, I am not sure if I am capable of making that decision. You see, Amanda is the only girl I have dated all through high school.

A year from now I will be entering into medical school for the Navy and I’m sure I will be meeting a lot of other women through the program. I’m wondering if I should ask Amanda to be my wife, as she “seems to be the one” for me, or, just wait, and see if there really “is” that elusive girl of my dreams. What do you think?

Looking For Paradise

Dear Looking For Paradise:

While I personally don’t believe that the PERFECT mate exists, I WOULD caution you on your uncertainty. At 23 years old, while plenty of folks DO decide to get hitched, 50% of those marriages also end in the big D.

Here’s what I suggest. Go to medical school and see what plays out. I’m not saying to stop dating Amanda, just see where your hormones lead you. Who knows, in YOUR mind, you might just discover that there WAS a perfect girl for you, or after medical school, you still might wanna get married to Amanda.

Life is too short to make the wrong choice here. Take a chance on YOUR life and see what happens. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

