Just Ask Sooz

cropped-jessica-rabbit.jpg

Dear Sooz:

I write this to you because you are my last hope. Two years ago my husband of 26 years passed. We did everything together Sooz, from vacationing, to just eating out. Bill was my life and soul mate.

I have tried to get back on the dating horse, but my heart just isn’t into it. I am so lonely that I wake up, and go back to bed with tears in my eyes.

I feel like there is just nothing left in me that is worth while. I have purchased sleeping pills, but haven’t had the courage to take them as of yet. I am just so depressed, and I don’t know what I am going to do.

All my family is gone and Bill and I never had any kids. I am just so alone, I feel helpless and unwanted. Can you give me a reason why I should go on living? If not, I am just going to end it all.

Hopeless in LA

 

Dear Hopeless in LA:

Please realize that I am NOT a trained psychologist or psychiatrist. This time of year is especially hard for folks like you. Let me just say this, YOU matter to ME.

My father killed himself while I was there and I have never gotten over that terrible feeling. I BEG you, see a therapist. Many times the right medication, or just the talking with another person can help the situation.

I have provided a list of folks in your area that I have found to be good, PLEASE SEE one of them. Better yet, let me fly out and I will be there for you. PLEASE…Don’t do anything rash.

I am enclosing my email address, USE it PLEASE. No one on MY watch is dying, get in touch with me.

As it turned out, I DID fly out to LA and took her to a therapist. I am happy to report that as of now, she is in group therapy, has met someone, and is a much happier person.

Suicide is pain beyond belief. If you or a loved one has feelings of self harm, PLEASE contact someone in your area now. If you need assistance, email me at dreamshadow59@gmail.com. I will be glad to help you the best way I know how.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

Leave a Reply

