My Sausage and Peppers—Moldy, Mildewed, and Musty

stock-photo-long-haired-woman-holding-her-nose-because-of-bad-smell-near-fridge-at-home-147529586

 

How many times has this happened to you, you go into your refrigerator to get oh let’s say a chicken wing, yeah, that’s it, a chicken wing. Then, while retrieving said item, you notice an unusual and obnoxious smell.

You KNOW it is probably something you forgot to take out, oh, say 5 or 6 months ago, and you really never NOTICED the smell before so it really didn’t matter. Now, however, you realize that the smell MUST be dealt with.

What do you do? Do you get right in there with your gas mask, rubber suit and gloves, and of course you’re anti mold spray to clean every nook and corner? Or, do you WAIT a while, THEN go back and open it again LATER in the hopes that the smell that could now be contaminating the entire free world, will have MAGICALLY disappeared?

OK, that MAY have been a stretch, but I just felt like a smart ass so I decided to just throw that in. Anyway, begrudgingly, I forged ahead like a woman being eaten by soldier ants. Let me just say that out of all the jobs I hate to do, well, except cleaning my toilet after a heavy bowel movement,  it’s cleaning the refrigerator.

First, I had to prepare. I cursed and whined like a sick banshee, followed by considering to have one of my friends do the dirty deed. Finally, I pulled up my big girl panties and SLOWLY opened the door to Hell.

Carefully searching, I discovered the evil doer; it was my sausage and peppers dish that must have been in there since Cinco de Mayo of 1912. It was indeed disgusting, covered with beautiful grays and greens, and it MAY have been growing some kind of a plant also but I decided to avert my eyes so I didn’t turn to stone.

Finally, after disposing of the contamination, I disrobed from my Hasmat suit, took a huge sigh of relief, and ate my chicken wing. All was once again right with the world.

Until later…

 

Leave a Reply

