Just Ask Sooz

dsc023221

Dear Sooz:

I need help. I am a 26 year old mother with three boys ages, 3, 5, and 6. They are beautiful, active boys and are pretty typical except for one thing, the 5 and 6 year olds play with their, um, “jewels”.

I just don’t know how to break them of this. When I take them out to the store their hand are always down their pants. I have explained to them that this is not appropriate behavior, but, they just keep on doing it.

Once my mother-in-law was over for lunch and she saw Eric and Jason playing with themselves, and she was so embarrassed, she turned a beet red. Then, she took me aside and started yelling at me for letting them continue this filthy habit.

I am all out of ideas Sooz, I have tried to scare them into making them believe it would fall off if they kept it up, I have also old them it wouldn’t grow anymore, but still they continue.

Every time I seem them doing it, I tell them to stop immediately, but they seem to go right back to the same old practice 10 minutes later. I am so distraught, can you help me?

Jewel Giggler

 

Dear Jewel Giggler:

 

Let me just say this, boys will be boys. It is a very common practice to see boys of this age touching themselves. To THEM. It just feels good and they see nothing wrong with it.

Actually, SOME boys NEVER lose the urge to give “Jimmy a Jingle”, just look at Steven Tyler or Michael Jackson when they perform. It seems like every other syllable they sing; it’s time for a free for all in their pants.

Just keep doing what you are doing and sooner or later they will lose and start using their hands more constructively. I recommend that when they start touching themselves, distract them with something else.

Give them a chore to do, or interest them in building something with Legos or blocks. This will help keep their focus on something productive and OFF themselves. Good Luck…

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

Leave a Reply

