Just Ask Sooz

istock_000005962856

Dear Sooz:

I have been reading your column now for a while, and I must say I respect your insights. Here’s the thing, my husband of four years must have something wrong with his ears, you see, he ever seems to comprehend what I say.

This is very frustrating for me. It doesn’t seem to matter what I say, ten minutes later and he is right back in front of the TV with no comprehension of what I have just said.

He makes me feel like I am unimportant to him. Is it me, or is it him. If it is him, then I could really use some words of wisdom from you. Thanks in advance.

Lost in Translation

 

Dear Lost in Translation:

Feel NOT, it is definitely HIM. In my experience, I have found this to be a typical male trait. A lot of the problem has to do with compartmentalizing. You see, a woman thinks GLOBALY, where a man tends to compartmentalize everything, that means he is focused on just one thing.

In other words, if he was watching TV, THAT’S what he is focused on. When you talk to him, he HEARS you, but it doesn’t REGISTER with his brain. Certainly everyone is different and some men can actually remember the conversations, although, these are few and far between.

When you want him to remember something, get him alone and THEN talk with him. You will find he will be a MUCH better listener THIS way. I know it is frustrating, hang in there, you will see what I mean.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Ask Sooz

Leave a Reply

