Just Ask Sooz

dsc_0310

Dear Sooz:

A while ago, my husband booked a fishing trip with him and his buddies. First, let me say that I HATE fishing and or anything that remotely resembles fishing. I hate putting those slimy worms on, having the possibility of catching myself on the hook, and or holding a slimy scaly fish.

Anyway, what happened was he found out that his buddies had decided to ask their wives to come so naturally, he invited me. Sooz, let me just say that there is no way I want to go on this damn fishing trip.

I realize my husband was just following his friends lead, but, not only will I have to put up with the fishing; the wives will be doing all the work cleaning and cooking the catch.

Somehow to me this does not sound like an ideal time. I was really looking forward to going to the Spa, having a nice massage, and a steam. Now, I will have to waste my time slaving and touching God only knows what on that holiday from Hell.

Do you have any words of wisdom for this forsaken fisherman?

Floundering in Fish Land.

 

Dear Floundering in Fish Land:

Why not just tell you husband what you’ve told me. I’m sure that he won’t mind if you beg off, tell him you have already made plans for the Spa and such, I don’t see how he could refuse you.

If he DOES make you go, explain to him that you will be doing NO fishing other than dropping your pole in the water and waiting for Moby Dick to come around. Also explain that under NO circumstances are you touching any slimy fish varmints. If he still wants you to come, at least you have established rules and boundaries for him to follow. I wish you much luck in your holiday experience. Happy Fishing…

 

 

Leave a Reply

