Romance is in The Air

mothers-day-single-red-roses-60-charming-single-rose-arrangements-a-total-of-180-flowers-globalrose

Romance is in The Air

Today is Friday and I am feeling romantic, so I thought I would treat you to some of my favorite romantic poems. One of my favorites is by a brilliant poet, William Wadsworth, who wrote as if his emotion spilled out of his talented body.

“I Wandered Lonely as a Cloud” by William Wordsworth

   I wandered lonely as a cloud

   That floats on high o’er vales and hills,

   When all at once I saw a crowd,  

   A host, of golden daffodils;

   Beside the lake, beneath the trees,

   Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

 

   Continuous as the stars that shine

   And twinkle on the milky way,

   They stretched in never-ending line

   Along the margin of a bay:

   Ten thousand saw I at a glance,

   Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

 

   The waves beside them danced; but they

   Out-did the sparkling waves in glee:

   A poet could not but be gay,

   In such a jocund company:

   I gazed—and gazed—but little thought

   What wealth the show to me had brought:

 

   For oft, when on my couch I lie

   In vacant or in pensive mood,

   They flash upon that inward eye

   Which is the bliss of solitude;

   And then my heart with pleasure fills,

   And dances with the daffodils.

 

Of course, who could forget the beautiful and love filled poem by Robert Burns:

 

My Luve

O my luve is like a red, red rose,
That’s newly sprung in June:
O my luve is like the melodie,
That’s sweetly played in tune.

As fair art thou, my bonie lass,
So deep in luve am I;
And I will luve thee still, my dear,
Till a’ the seas gang dry.

Till a’ the seas gang dry, my dear,
And the rocks melt wi’ the sun;
And I will luve thee still my dear,
While the sands o’ life shall run.

And fare thee weel, my only luve!
And fare thee weel a while!
And I will come again, my luve,
Tho’ it were ten thousand mile.

I think my favorite love poem is inspired by Lord Byron and it goes like this:

She Walks in Beauty
Lord Byron (1788-1824)

The opening stanza is:

“She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
Meet in her aspect and her eyes;
Thus mellowed to that tender light
Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

Ahhhhhh, such romance, such beautiful words and thoughts by some of the greats. I hope you have enjoyed these and will share them with your significant other or sweetheart.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Romance is in The Air

  1. My significant other, Sonic my cat, listened intently to these romantic poems, coughed and brought up a fur ball. Heck, I am a hopeless romantic 😉
    Have a lovely weekend Sooz my friend ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

