Just Ask Sooz

20258-super-bowl-sunday-at-sandbar-desert-ridge-730946

Dear Sooz:

I am an 18 year old young woman who would like your opinion on something. Recently, my friends who have also just turned 18 got fake ID badges and use it to go out to clubs, get drunk, and carouse with guys.

I must admit the thought has also crossed my mind, but, I am a little afraid to join the club. I have never been drunk, but to hear my girlfriends talk about it, there is nothing better.

While going to the clubs and dancing sounds like fun, my moral compass airs on the side of caution. What do you think? I would like to but am a bit afraid.

Sober Teenager

 

Dear Sober Teenager:

I must tell you, what I wouldn’t give NOT to have had my first drink. At 18, you have your whole life ahead of you. I’m sure you will think of MANY ways to get yourself into trouble, wait a while.

Getting drunk eases your inhibitions, and makes you think you are invulnerable. Just ASK me, I’ll tell you. Many times, date rape occurs after a night of heavy drinking. Early pregnancy can occur and then you will have to worry about being a parent, then, you WON’T have time to get to the clubs.

Keep your current moral compass and let your friends worry about the consequences. You will be the smarter woman. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

