Just Ask Sooz

 

Image result for Caregiving for an elderly mom

Dear Sooz:

I am writing you today because I need some advice. My mother is 62 and she has recently been diagnosed with early onset Alzerheimers disease. I am just beside myself Sooz.

It breaks my heart seeing her decline on such a rapid basis. Once a professor, she now forgets things that have happened in the not too distant past. I have been to several Dr’s., and they have all given me the same diagnosis.

I can’t seem to deal with the previous memories of us and the thoughts of the future. Currently, I am her caregiver, and my heart just breaks on a daily basis. What can I do to help with my growing sad feelings?

Heart Broken

 

Dear Heart Broken:

First, let me say how sorry I am for both YOU and your mom. This is a HORRIBLE disease that strips one of his/her dignity. The caregiver has the toughest job as you have demonstrated, and while I applaud your selflessness, I emphasize with your feelings.

If you can, try and get some help with the Caregiving so you can do things like go to support groups for Alzheimer’s caregivers. These groups I have heard are very helpful, and help with the same feelings you are going through now.

Again, I applaud you and will send you some groups in your area. I wish you all the best.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

