Just Ask Sooz

Image result for playing the clarinet

Dear Sooz:

Here is my question. Recently, I learned to play the clarinet. Though I have played many instruments, this one was a bit more of a challenge in some ways.

I have played piano in front of large audiences in the past, but, for some reason, when I try to play clarinet for a couple friends it mostly comes out as squeaks and squeals.

My two friends, Pat and Bob, are very supportive, in fact, too supportive at times, but my feelings of inadequacy are starting to affect my musical confidence.

 I am a mess about this because playing the clarinet in the symphony has always been a dream of mine, and one that I can pursue now that I am over my lip balm addiction. What should I do about this? I fear auditioning in front of my peers and looking a fool. Thank you.

 Blowing In The Wind

 

Dear Blowing in the Wind:

A musical instrument is like giving a BJ, practice makes perfect. The more you practice, the better you will get. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

