Just Ask Sooz

Image result for beautiful indian woman

Dear Sooz:

I could really use your help. My parents are from India and are very old school when it comes to getting married. My parents believe in arranged marriages, and have already made an arranged marriage for me.

I am really in a pickle here because I am already in a serious relationship. Not only are my parents against him, he is also outside of my race. I am so confused.

If I continue my relationship with my boyfriend, I may very well lose the respect and love of my parents. If I go through with the arranged marriage,

I will be doing myself a disservice and my heart will be broken. I am really torn Sooz, what shall I do?

Torn Soul

 

Dear Torn Soul:

This is America baby, everyone is entitled to choose who THEY want, NOT your parents. While I realize that this is a very old tradition in your Indian culture, you must discuss this with your parents and make them see it YOUR way.

Let them know that you love them, but your happiness should NOT be IMPOSED upon you. I believe your parents will see your side of this, if NOT, they are still your parents and will eventually get over it.

This is your life and should live it accordingly. Good Luck…

 

 

Leave a Reply

