Storage Wars, Fake or Fiction?

 

Image result for storage wars

Last night I was watching TV, and on A&E came a show called Storage Wars. Now I have watched this show before, usually when I’m not doing something. I usually watch it for its entertainment value.

Yesterday, after watching the show, I decided to do a little research. I couldn’t take it anymore. For those of you who have never watched the show, a group of bidders gather around at a storage facility, and bids are then made by the people who come to the auction.

Now, there are about 5 or 6 MAIN bidders for lockers that are up for auction, with about 12-15 other bidders who SELDOM, if EVER actually get a winning bid. Last night was very exciting, Darrell Sheets, (AKA the gambler), bid nearly 16,000 on this one locker.

Honestly, most of them look like JUNK, I wouldn’t even bid on them. Anyway, after winning the bid, he opens the locker and here is between 90k to 100k worth of collectable items and such. SERIOUSLY???

I found out that the show is totally fake. The auctioneer, (Dan Dotson and his wife Laura), actually pay these MAIN players 12k each just to be there to bid on said items. No WONDER no one else seems to score anything.

The next thing is the amount the winners, while clearing their lockers, price the worth of said items. Scratched chairs, tables, and clothing, I’ve seen them price as high as 1000. Not in MY book. I would have given you a 100 dollar bill for ALL the contents in these lockers.

Come to find out, the producers add antiques to some of the lockers, from an antique store who also happens to appraise then for the bidders when taken back to THEIR antique store. I don’t know, it’s a good concept and makes good TV, but it has just crushed my reality TV watching. Oh well, back to Pawn Stars.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.